St. Marys Community Foundation Awards Scholarships

The Directors of the St. Marys Community Foundation recently awarded scholarships and educational loans to St. Marys and area students for the 2017 academic year. The largest and most important way the Foundation has helped over the years has been through its loan and scholarship program to assist the youth of the area in attaining higher education beyond high school. This year, the total awarded for scholarships is $101,550.00 and the amount loaned to college students is $139,000.00 for a total of $240,550.00 provided to students to further their education.

The St. Marys Community Foundation was formed in 1974 as a public charity to help make the St. Marys community a better place to live for all our citizens. In the 43 year history of the Foundation, the grand total of loans and grants is over $3,484,430.00 to over 1,880 students.

The Foundation is grateful to the many community minded individuals who have established scholarship programs to provide a lasting source of educational funding. More information about the Community Foundation can be viewed at the website:


2017 Scholarship Recipients

Ned E. & Doris Lawler Family Scholarship

Julius Fisher

Heinrich Family Scholarship

Riley Niekamp, Rachel Thornsberry, Luke Lemmerman

Emil & Onnolee Steva Scholarship

Hanna Felver

Dessie Comus Scholarship

Julius Fisher

James J. and Grace I. Young Scholarship

Abigail Wilker, Alexa Sutton, Sarah Miller

St. Marys Eagles Aerie #767 College / Technical Scholarship

Dylan Engel, Austin Cook, Jenna Norton, Courtney Grothause

Wright State University Lake Campus Matching Scholarship

Molly Menker, Josh Young

Medic Search Scholarship / Loan

Makayla Koch, Hope Yahl

Disabled American Veterans' Scholarship

Reagan Tischler, Bailey Rust, Madison Green, Madison Chapman, Anna Ernst, Seth Vorhees, Riley Wilson, Taryn Swander, Madison Jaros, Ashlyn Miller, Dominic Brown, Quincy Rable, Jaiden Deubler, Bailey Holmes-Sparks, Austin Smith

Moeller / Pfeffenberger Scholarship

Victoria Bartlett

St. Marys VFW Post 9289 Scholarship

Jacob Grannan, Megan Kennedy, Robert Miller,

Adam Wicker, Nathan Huber

St. Marys VFW Post 9289 Scholarship

in Memory of Joe Forch

Thomas Mele

Woodmen of the World

Caleigh Christman

Andrew Howick Memorial Scholarship

Katia Martinez

The Music Grant

Naomi Bernholt

Virginia Weadock DeMora Scholarship

Derek Jay

Shirley McEvoy Kemp Memorial Book Scholarship

Katia Martinez

Margaret Lipp Scholarship

Caleigh Christman

Clausing Scholarship (Liberty University)

Sarah Stewart

Clausing Scholarship

Madison Jarros

Minster State Bank Scholarship

Jacob Hollman

Burke Family Scholarship

Kelly Wilker, Claire Schloemer

Bethers Scholarship

Memorial High School

Jaiden Deubler, Jenna Norton, Taryn Swander, Makayla Koch

Wapakoneta High School

Lindsey Sanders, Wesley Temple

Jace and Tom Howard Scholarship

Allison Ernst, Derek Jay, TJ Mele

USW Local 200L Scholarships

Logan Boley – Celina High School

Chase Gambill – Bradford High School

St. Marys Relief Scholarship

Julianna Bayham

St. Marys Optimist Club Scholarship

Quincy Rable, Rebecca Wilson

St. Marys Elementary PTO

Jaiden Deubler, Madison Jarros

Dr. Mark Nitschke Memorial Scholarship

Kayla Jaynes – New Knoxville

Davis Family Scholarship

Jake Blitch – New Knoxville

Tristan Thompson – New Knoxville

St. Marys Foundry Scholarship

Mathew Dine, Nathan Falk, Michael Molaskey,

Chelsey Opasik, Vince Wilson, Rose Wilson

Marianne Roether Nursing Scholarship

Madison Ginter

Stoker-Risen Scholarship

Rebecca Wilson, Nick Dues, Katelyn Brackney, Kristen Dammeyer

Geiger Scholarship

TJ Mele, Renewals - Calen Fledderjohann and Ben Tuttle

Jim Davis Scholarship

Bailey Fenwick-Miller

Jarrett Fowler Scholarship

Madison Green, Austin Smith

Arlie and Margaret Sommer Scholarship

Kelly Wilker, Renewals - Nathan Wilker, Colin Burke, Kristen Dammeyer

St. Marys Kiwanis Scholarship

Jonathon Peterson, Katie Freewalt

St. Marys Lion’s Club Scholarship

Makayla Koch

Dylan Everage Scholarship

Jaiden Deubler

Rob Deubler Memorial Scholarship

Bailey Holmes-Sparks

Barry and Shirley Kemp Scholarship

Sarah Miller

St. Marys Roughrider Touchdown Club Scholarship

Julius Fisher

Zion Lutheran Church Scholarship

Erin Stetler, Jeremy Kemmann, Cindy Stetler,

Spencer Thiebeau, Casey Thiebeau

Bob Hensley Scholarship

Hanna Felver

Foxhoven Family Scholarship

Jonathon Peterson, Shania Taylor

St. Marys Senior Citizens Scholarship

Nicholas Dues

Laut Scholarship

New Bremen Valedictorian – Alexa Paulus

Friends of the Library Scholarship

Marie Ewry, Caleb James

Class of 1965 50th Year Anniversary Scholarship

Cheyenne Niekamp

Class of 1966 Scholarship

Tara Sterling

Makley Family Scholarship

Abigail Wilker

St. Marys American Legion Scholarship

Grace Garrison, TJ Mele, Jonathon Peterson

Parker-Hannifin Scholarship

Derek Jay, Breanna Mabry

Holy Rosary PTO Scholarship

Marie Ewry, Makayla Koch, Kelly Wilker

St. Marys Rotary Scholarship – 4 year degree

Shania Taylor, Quincy Rable, Jocelyn Birt,
Claire Schloemer, Bailey Fenwick-Miller

St. Marys Rotary Scholarship – 2 year degree

Adam Wicker

St. Marys Rotary Scholarship – WSU matching

Grace Garrison

Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Auglaize, Mercer and

Van Wert Counties Scholarship

Ashley Ray – St. Henry

Richard Eberle – Van Wert

Alexa Paulus – New Bremen

St. Marys Summerfest Queen Scholarship

Colleen Sharpin

Education Loans for 2017

Frank Dennings Education Loan Fund

Kelly Wilker

Lois Brewer-Mary Hartman Education Loan Fund

Abigail Wilker

Sadie Potts Fund

Katlyn Brown

Edith Slabaugh Education Loan Fund

Madison Ginter

Ethel Prince Loans

Anna Ernst

Nathan Falk

Agnes and Roland Clausing (J)

Kyle Dammeyer

Agnes and Roland Clausing (L)

Evan Bader, Nicholas Barrett, Victoria Bartlett, Elizabeth Bartlett, Julianna Bayham, Naomi Bernholt, Page Block, Courtney Grothause, Colin Grothause, Makayla Koch

Daniel Mooney Loan

Zachary Lemmerman

Loan Repayment Fund

Evan Bader, Victoria Bartlett, Elizabeth Bartlett, Julianna Bayham, Page Block, Katlyn Brown, Kyle Dammeyer, Nathan Falk, Samantha Fortman, Bailey Gottschalk, Mason Gross, Nate Gross, Alexis Grothause, Courtney Helmlinger, Micah Johns, Paige Keysor, Luke Lemmerman, Zachary Lemmerman, Rachel Meier, Rachel Moeller, Max Moeller, Alexandria Nagel, Cheyenne Niekamp, Logan Patton, Josalyn Schamp, Hannah Tobin, Benjamin Tuttle, Abigail Wilker

Laut Loan Recipients – New Bremen Students

Danielle Ahlers, Kaitlyn Ahrns, Nicholas Blaine, Haleigh James, Paige Kuck, Sara LaFleur, Miranda Paulus, Cloe Schwartz, Madison Wells, Logan Wells, Vince Wilson

Medic Search Loans

Makayla Koch

Hope Yahl

Contact Us

146 East Spring St.
St. Marys, Ohio 45885
PH:  419-394-5693
FX:  419-394-7694

Mike Makley
Executive Director

Give Now!

Visa Card
Master Card
Discover Card

Click here!